Travel Essentials

Travel Essentials

In planning your visit to Melbourne, take some time to consider some Australia specific information including Visa requirements, climate, time-zone and other helpful information about our country.

Unless you are an Australian or New Zealand citizen, you will need a visa to enter Australia. All other passport holders must apply for a visa before leaving home. Delegates can apply for a range of visas online or at their nearest Australian Consulate. Further details can be found on the Australian Department of Immigration and Border Protection website here.
Weather and Daylight
Melbourne enjoys warm summers, glorious springs, mild autumns and crisp winters. Melbourne's top temperatures are usually in January and February, June and July are the coldest months and October is the wettest. Daylight hours vary between the seasons - during winter the average daylight is 9 hours and summer is 14 hours.
Summer (December - February)
Melbourne warms up in summer with mean temperatures between 14 - 25.3°C (57.2 - 77.5°F). These months are dry, with occasional hot spells that can last more than three days. Melbourne’s hottest days are usually in January and February, when temperatures can occasionally soar past 30°C (86°F).
Autumn (March – May)
Autumn sees cooler weather with average temperatures ranging from 10.9 – 20.3°C (51.6 - 68.5°F). Morning fog usually clears to fine, sunny days, occasionally with extended periods of light winds.
Winter (June – August)
In winter, average temperatures range from 6.5 - 14.2°C (43.7 - 57.6°F). The weather is frequently cool and cloudy, and nights can be cold with occasional frosts. Heavy rain is uncommon. Snow falls only in the north-east of Victoria, known as High Country.
Spring (September – November)
During spring average temperatures range from 9.6 - 19.6°C (49.3 - 67.3°F). The weather is variable and can quickly change from calm and sunny to cold and windy. Pack your umbrella – October is the wettest month with roughly 10 days of rainfall.
Time Zone
Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) covers the eastern states of Victoria, Queensland, New South Wales, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory. AEST is equal to Coordinated Universal Time (GMT) plus 10 hours (GMT +10).

In the Australian summer, Victoria, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania and the ACT turn their clocks forward one hour to Daylight Saving Time (DST). Daylight Saving Time begins on the first Sunday in October and ends on the first Sunday in April. NSW, ACT, Victoria and Tasmania move from AEST to Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT), UTC +11.

The International Date Line crossing the Pacific Ocean changes the date by one day. If you cross the date line moving east, you subtract a day; if travelling west you add on a day (with local variations). Travelling direct from Los Angeles or London to Australia you arrive two days later; travelling back, you arrive the same day you departed.
Shopping Hours
These are general guides as to retail hours in Melbourne’s city centre:
  • Monday to Thursday: 9am-6pm
  • Friday: 9am to 9pm
  • Saturday: 9am to 5pm
  • Sunday: 10am to 5pm
  • Shops are generally not open on Good Friday and Christmas Day
Find out more information on Melbourne’s shopping experiences 
Weights and Measures
Australia uses the metric system as its standard for measuring.
Free outdoor public Wi-Fi is available in central Melbourne. Select 'VicFreeWiFi' service at all city centre train stations, Bourke Street Mall, Queen Victoria Market, South Wharf Promenade at Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre. The service requires no login or passwords, and is advertisement-free.

Federation Square in the city also has free Wi-Fi, along Melbourne Airport and NGV International. Public libraries, museums and other community hubs offer free Wi-Fi access as well as with many city hotels, cafes, bars and restaurants.