The 2019 Tourism Accommodation Australia (Victoria) Awards for Excellence have honoured Victoria’s star hotel performers at a gala dinner at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne.

The night was attended by almost 500 hospitality, business and political leaders including Victorian minister for consumer affairs Marlene Kairouz.

Former CEO of the Melbourne Convention Bureau, Karen Bolinger, was presented with the Outstanding Contribution to the Industry award, which recognises the sustained influence of a hotelier or industry leader who has made a significant contribution to Victoria’s tourism and accommodation sectors. Under Bolinger’s watch, the Melbourne Convention Bureau delivered over $2.4 billion in economic contribution to the Victorian Economy, and over 570,000 delegate days.

“Accommodation hotels in Victoria really are among the best in the business and this was on display again here at the Awards,” Tourism Accommodation Australia CEO Michael Johnson said.

“From Melbourne to the regions, Victoria sets a high standard when it comes to accommodation – I would like to congratulate all winners for providing high quality venues and service each and every day of the year.”

The 2019 TAA (Victoria) Awards for Excellence winners include:

Hotel Restaurant of the Year  - Bankvale Run, Marnong Estate & Locanda Restaurant, Rydges Melbourne
Hotel Club Lounge of the Year – The Langham Melbourne
Outstanding Community Service and Achievement – Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Mid-Range Accommodation Hotel of the Year – Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Boutique Style Accommodation of the Year - The Provincial Hotel, Ballarat
Outstanding Achievement in Training - Grand Hyatt Melbourne & Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Hotel Industry Rising Star Award - Tim Deeks - Crown Towers Melbourne
Outstanding Contribution to the Industry - Karen Bolinger, in her capacity as Chief Executive Officer – Melbourne Convention Bureau
Best Environmental and Energy Efficiency Practice - Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Excellence in Innovation - Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Sales Employee of the Year - Maya Gray - Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Marketing Employee of the Year - Elissa Hayes - Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort and Spa, Yarra Glen
Back of House Employee of the Year - Keith Wilson - Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Chef of the Year - Grant Flack - Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort and Spa, Yarra Glen
Resort Style Accommodation of the Year - Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort and Spa, Yarra Glen
Deluxe Accommodation Hotel of the Year - Crown Towers Melbourne


Image: (L-R) Hon. Marlene Kairouz, in her capacity as Victoria's Minister for Consumer Affairs; Karen Bolinger and Tracy Atherton, Group General Manager, Jackalope Hotels and TAA (Vic) Deputy Chair.